Unlimited access >

Securing a Hay Net on the Ground

Has anyone used the SmartPak Slow Feed Hay Bag (photo below) on the ground for their barefoot horses? I figured this might be a little safer since they’re stiff so no possibility of an empty net wrapping around my horse’s leg during the middle of the night.

However, I’m trying to figure out how I would keep it closed securely. My horse has mastered how to open velcro and I’m anxious about using any metal or plastic clips to close it in case she steps on it. I’m a little paranoid; worst case scenario of her stepping on it, she gets hurt. Best case scenario she squashes it so it has to be hacked off and replaced the next morning. Would it be best to tie it closed with baling twine so there’s nothing to break? If I do go that route, would it be overkill to remove the rings up at the top? I’ve never used a hay net on the ground before (clearly) but was interested after seeing the Hay Pillows.

Edit 1: There’s not a place in the stall to attach it at ground level
Edit2: Photo is not mine, just the SmartPak product photo!

can you install a screw eye closer to the ground to attach it?

The photo isn’t mine, it’s off of SmartPak’s website, sorry for the confusion! I currently board so I don’t think I’m allowed to install anything permanent

Hmmm. I have some “screw shut” loops that would work. If you can prep a few hay bags for her then you’re not being the PITA with the high maintenance hay bags :wink:

Go to TSC or lowes etc…there are many sizes and they would be safe for her. They are deeply grove so they don’t jam up or get difficult easily

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Uxcell-5pcs-304-Stainless-Steel-Outdoor-Screw-Lock-Carabiner-Hook-Key-Chain-5mm-Thick/342432022

1 Like

Are there no bars on the stall front? How are water buckets hung in the stalls or do they have auto waterers??