Unlimited access >

Seresto Collars

I do not normally post things like this, and I do not use these collars, but I know a lot of posters do.

I just want to make sure everyone saw this: https://www.cbsnews.com/news/seresto-collar-deaths-symptoms-collar-should-be-recalled-fleas-ticks-report-says/

There has been a lot of other news and I did not want this to get overlooked.

1 Like

I’ve been using these collars for several years now with zero problems. They are the most cost effective means of flea and tick control for me. The active ingredients, Flumethrin and Imidacloprid are used in other topical flea and tick meds. Currently I have 4 dogs and 1 cat wearing Seresto collars. When I put them one a pet for the 1st time I monitor behavior closely and check for irritation around the neck. I have had a couple of dogs with tick borne diseases so I need effective tick control. The Cat that is wearing one is a flea magnet. He was covered in fleas and flea dirt. After a couple of days of wearing the collar, no fleas. I plan to get at least 2 more cat collars for my floofy cats. The topicals don’t seem to be able to penetrate their coats.

I think most of the deaths attributed to the collars are anecdotal and may also involve counterfeits. I wouldn’t use them on a very young animal or a severely debilitated one but I have no qualms about using them on a healthy animal.

7 Likes

I agree with @Sandysmom! The problems are from the counterfeit collars, not the real collars.

My barn cat, we tried all kinds of treatments for ticks, all from the vet. He kept showing up with ticks on him. (Was not worried about the cat, because cats have very few tick borne disease issues per my vet, I was worried about the cat bringing ticks into the barn and the horses or dogs getting them.) We put a Seresto collar on him and no more ticks.