Unlimited access >

Severe Dermatitis?

My gelding has had some ongoing dermatitis that I cannot shake. I wouldn’t really consider it too severe because he is not really losing fur (he was at one point but not so much anymore). But I have been chasing this problem for almost eight months and have not completely abolished it.
When I was living in Rhode Island the vet said it was not rain rot but a pretty severe dermatitis from really dry skin. He said this because he was covered in scabs and dandruff, essentially, and the skin underneath everything flaking off was healthy. The blankets and the rain was what was bothering him, he said, and that once I could regularly bathe him and get rid of the scabs and winter coat the problem would go away. I moved down to South Carolina for the winter and I still cannot get rid of this. My poor boy is so itchy.
I have tried the full arsenal of equus products, bathing him once a week and applying the gel daily. I have tried mtg (especially for his mane that he rubbed out). Now, most recently, I am trying turmeric (paste of coconut oil, freshly ground black pepper, and turmeric) because it was recommended for allergen induced dermatitis. I thought that maybe he was allergic to alfalfa, so I dropped his timothy/alfalfa pellets from his diet. That seemed to make a difference but it might have been all in my head.
Right now he is on Empower Balance, a little bit of safechoice original, coolstance copra horse feed (purely coconut), dynamite free choice minerals, and his smartpak (smartdigest ultra, tri-amino, and smartcombo pellets). I am probably going to get an allergy test to see if there is something else causing this skin problem. Has anyone had this problem arise from an allergy?
I was also told that maybe he has an immune deficiency because his body should be able to fight off a skin problem like this. I was advised to give him vitamin c. He is only five years old so he shouldn’t have a weakened immune system from age.