Unlimited access >

Shock absorbing half pad???

I have a 19 year old jumper, and she is in great health, but still older. We have a custom Voltaire saddle fit to her and me, but my trainer and I still want to find some sort of half pad that can help her absorb shock as we continue to jump up to keep her back happier. My trainer recommended a SaddleRight, but I also have lots of friends with Ogilvys. However my trainer has no experience with them so we are not sure. My question is, do Ogilvys really help absorb shock for the horse? Or do they just compress and loose their padding? Are there any other brands or specific pads anyone has had luck with? Please help:)

If your saddle fits properly, you shouldn’t need one of those crazy thick pads.

I have no personal experience with Ogilvy pads, but IMO, if your saddle fits correctly and then you put a wicked thick half pad under it, you’re probably doing more harm than good.

Keep your horse really fit and well-muscled. That will help you much more in the long run.

If the saddle fits well, try a Thinline because that isn’t as bulky.

A big inch or more thick pad is going to alter saddle fit.

As far as I know, there’s only been one study done on this, and that compared gel, leather, foam and - of all things! - reindeer skin:

http://www.livestock-supplies.info/saddle-pads/saddle-pads-best-shock-absorber-identified-in-study/

Reindeer skin came in way ahead of the others, but there aren’t any reindeer in my neighborhood, so I go with sheepskin. My horses are 10 and 18, with very different back conformation, and both seem very comfy in sheepskin with a shaped baby pad underneath.

I do include the extra thickness of the fleece pad in calculating tree size, though, and I agree that slapping on a lot of extra thickness won’t do you any good if it messes up your saddle fit.