Unlimited access >

Shopping for Western saddle for new horse, need some advice

Hi all. So, my background is mostly English riding (eventing, trail, foxhunting, stuff like that), but when I was a kid I used to ride western and I even taught it for a while at a kids’ camp. Fast forward almost 50 years, last spring I bought the great great great granddaughter of the wonderful Morgan who helped me survive high school. She’s 9 but has mainly been a broodmare and riding-wise is a blank slate. I’m starting her in my English tack, but I’m telling you, she has a trot to die for–easy to sit to even when she’s really moving out. I keep looking at her and thinking how lovely she’d be in Western tack. I’d like to get her a Western saddle but, I mean, back when I used to ride Western we never gave the slightest thought to how the saddle fit the horse. I know the basics of fitting an English saddle and of course there’s YouTube and all, but if I were to look for a used but decent Western saddle, is there anything I should know? I’ve even seen some treeless Western saddles. I’m riding her right now in a wide jumping saddle, which seems comfy enough for her. I just don’t want to walk into a Western tack store and feel like a moron. Plus I live around Saratoga Springs, NY, which isn’t exactly a Western riding mecca. Any thoughts? Thanks in advance…

Lots of good reading at this website:

The Proper Position of a Western saddle

Saddle fit - Western compared to English Part 2

Saddle fit - Western compared to English Part 3

Good luck!

Any pictures of the horse? If she rides in a wide English, she will probably need Full QH bars in a western. The main thing to look at is gullet angles, as different manufacturers put in different width gullets. Abetta had about 5 different trees, Fabtron is another good name brand.