Show Me Your Chicken Runs!

Im hoping to draw on collective COTH wisdom for some ideas on how best to re-build/beef up my chicken run. This is my first year having chickens and I’ve lost a couple to predators, most recently one to a bird of prey yesterday. I interrupted him right after he got her so I am confident of who the culprit was. I will admit the chicken I lost was my escape artist and known to let herself in and out of the run almost daily so I kind of figured it was only a matter of time. Im planning to re-locate my coop this year and as part of that project wanted to build a new run. Current run was kind of last-minute when they outgrew my “starter coop” and needed to transition to the big coop before winter set in. It is 2x4 no-climb fence (left over from horse paddock) held up with metal T-posts, I’ve also got the no-climb over 1/3 of the top and the other 2/3 has electric fence tape (not hot) woven back and forth to discourage aerial attacks. This issue isn’t so much predators getting IN but chickens getting OUT. I would love to find a dog run for them that I could cover on the top but used ones are scarce in my area and new is out of my price range. I’ve looked at some of the pre-built chicken runs but I worry about the strength/integrity of something like that. I’m in the northeast so snow and gusty winds are a factor.

So long story short, what’s your chicken set-up? How does it work and how would you improve upon it?

Our set up was we got the kids five chickens and they (the chickens and I guess the kids also) free ranged with the horses. If a hawk showed up looking for a meal the chickens would run under one of the horses for protection.

here they are sharing a watermelon while visiting the patio
FoxintheBox015

by the way chickens can live forever it seems, we had one of that five live to be 12 or so years

1 Like