Unlimited access >

sitting trot, rising trot and muscles

Hi guys, im a novice rider in my teens and have rode for about a year and a half. Would appreciate if you could give me some advice :slight_smile:

So i take weekly lessons and i find that my thighs (especially the inner thighs and the back) are sore nearly almost after every lesson. is this normal considering i only ride once weekly? or am i engaging the wrong muscles.
Another thing, I cant post without stirrups and i realised this is because as i relied too much on my stirrups to post (ie i have this habbit of posting from my stirrups and rely on them when say im unstable or when my horse bolts). Hence, nowadays i try to combat this problem by gripping with my thighs and possibly my knees, not sure if its thats the correct way to post? but thats also probably causing my muscle soreness.

Another thing, in ordder to do the sitting trot without stirrups I just need to let my legs hang and not grip anywhere right? So just to confirm, the muscles we engage to do sitting and rising trot is different? Also, i dont actually feel my abs getting sore so i was also wondering how do i use my abs??

oh dear im so confused HAHAH so would appreciate some advice and have you experienced it b4? PS i cant chose the saddles or horses i ride as i ride in a riding school… i acknowledge that saddle fit might be a contributing factor but i cant do anything about that :frowning: thank you! :slight_smile:

Welcome to COTH! :slight_smile:
There are tons of crazy knowledgeable folks on here that are far better qualified to answer this than myself, but I have had similar problems since returning to riding after an extended break.

For me, most of my problems came/come from a simple lack of fitness/time in the saddle (I also was only riding once a week or so at first) and very little flexibility in my hips.