Unlimited access >

Soft Tissue Rehab - Not started undersaddle

I’m going to try to be as concise with this as possible but I’m looking for some collective experience. To start, I just want to note that I’m working closely with my vet and we’ve made some great progress. I’ll also note that I’m new to rehab or this amount of stall rest because knocking on wood in my 24 years of experience owning horses I’ve never dealt with an injury this serious before. I have a plan, but I’d love some thoughts and experience to make sure I’m heading in the right direction.

I got a new horse at the end of October this past year. As horses do, within 2.5 weeks of bringing her home (during a very slow and careful introduction to another horse) she sustained a kick to the inside of her right hock which was later diagnosed as a fracture of the Talus and collateral ligament damage via CT and ultrasound with some sets of x-rays thrown in. She was 4 years old, now 5 and is not started under saddle. She also was not experienced at longeing (we were working on that) prior to her injury.

Based on advice from my vet and the lameness expert at the UofM (where we got the CT done) she has been on 6 months of stall rest with daily hand walking since basically the beginning and has been an absolute superstar and, until recently, we haven’t needed any pharmaceutical help. We started at 10 minutes of hand walk and have built up to over an hour. At the 6 month mark (about two weeks ago) we started adding some trot and she has been sound so far (yay!!!). I’m having a tough time finding anything about rehabbing a collateral ligament of the hock specifically so I’m going with more general advise around soft tissue rehab and planning to very slowly build up trot on a straight line.