Unlimited access >

Soft vs rubber bell boots

This is probably a dumb question but are all the new “soft” type bell boots suitable for cross country? Will the fabric collect stickers? There are so many of the soft style now I can hardly find small rubber bells for my petite mare’s feet.

Also don’t get me started on every rubber bell being covered in fleece. I guess most of the country isn’t blanketed in burrs.

2 Likes

I have no experience with the fabric bell boots, but a quick google search for - gum rubber bell boots - resulted in lots of options with no fleece.

1 Like

The Schneider’s double lock rubber ones are good and not too expensive. I’ve had 15 horses in turn in them every day since the summer and only one has ripped.

Also used the neoprene Horze ones for my “soft” option. Used them XC and in turn out and nothing sticks to them. They don’t hold up as well though.

I’m a fan of the Davis vinyl boots: the vinyl is TOUGH but shiny smooth, they come in lots more sizes and colors than other brands, and are burr-proof.

I also like the Professional’s Choice Spartan II for a more streamlined look in competition - it has a neoprene lining under a vinyl shell so might be burr proof too.

1 Like

I don’t know about XC or burrs, but my favorites are the Dover house brand rubber pull-ons. They are the stretchiest pull-ons I’ve tried, the only ones I dont have to wrestle on. My horse gets turned out in them, wears them almost 24/7 with no rubs (he’s thin skinned and has gotten rubs from heavier velcro boots) and they tend to last over 6 months, not bad for the price.

1 Like

I use the Professional Choice or SmartPak soft bell boots for turnout- I find they work better for the heel grabbers. I don’t find them to attract burs.

BUT I don’t love them for XC schooling- they get heavy/soggy in the water and tend to come off when you are schooling the water element repeatedly.