Unlimited access >

Sores from Blevins slide on stirrup leathers?

I am a newbie to riding my horse in a western saddle, and am having issues with him developing sores on his sides from what appears to be the Blevins slide. It is a hard slide with a leather cover, and I even put some fleece over the top of it, but after riding today, he still developed sores from a 30-60 minute trail ride. The sores appear behind the cinch, so are definitely not from the cinch. Does anyone have any suggestions on where I can get more comfortable stirrup leather slides? It is a Crates saddle if that helps, and seems to fit us both everywhere else.

Or, if there is nothing I can do about the slides, should I get different stirrup leathers or fenders?

Sounds like you need someone to take some photos of you in the saddle. Or get a skilled Western person to watch you ride the horse.

Is saddle new, stiff? Fenders so stiff making your toes point inward in the stirrups, not outward when you ride?

Other ideas which observer or photo can show you, is if your posture, leg position, could be pushing the buckle cover into the side of horse. Folks that weight their stirrups heavily, can do that rubbing of horse with buckles. How the stirrups are adjusted, could make the buckles fall into a bad location, outside of the ribs, so the edges can’t avoid rubbing. Tired riders on longer rides will “save themselves” by sitting unevenly to avoid pain. They put more weight in one leg or the other, more weight on one side of bottom than the other, which throws the legs off too. Are sores on both sides of horse?

Making the fender area higher up towards the seat or lower fender is lower down, could move the buckles enough to remove the problem. Short legged folks can have problems with fenders so tight up to the seat area, there is no adjustment you can make that still lets them reach the stirrups. Buckles are stuck in only one location.