Unlimited access >

Spooky Mare can it be her hormones?

So basically my daughter’s mare sees dead people…… Before I begin Im talking about my daughters horse but I am also a trainer of over 26 years just so you don’t think I’m just a
mom on a rant. But really I’m a trainer that is looking for advice!
Bought my daughter this beautiful WB mare almost 3 years ago. Now mind you she was green to showing never really had been off the farm she was born and raised on. We bring her home and she was pretty spooky off the bat. So I thought well we need to give her time to settle in big change for her. Treated for ulcers first. Did a power pack of ulcer guard and put her sulcrifate.
Still not much change.

She also started acting like the bit was shocking her. So I had vet out to check her teeth mouth etc. He did in fact find a splinter wolf tooth. So basically it was a tooth that never developed and it was like a splinter under her gum. We removed. I’d been in touch with the lady we bought her from letting her know our struggles. So I sent her back for 2-3 months for training. I would drive my daughter 4 hours on the weekends to get a lesson. The mare was decent there. Spooky but not as much as before.

Brought her home she was ok. Started showing some 2’ stuff just to get her experience (Mind you I bought her to be a children’s and then jr hunter)
But the spook never really went away.

So fast forward to fall I still researching trying to figure out. She’s a bit moody and she screams in her stall and kicks like a dinosaur. Not as horses would go by the stall but literally for no reason.