Spread the word: Therapeutic riding is not a "pony ride"

I am an instructor at a NARHA Premier Accredited Therapeutic Riding Center in Central Texas. Although only in my early twenties, I have been involved with therapeutic horseback riding (THR) for over nine years. Through all the changes in my young life, THR has been a constant. The small miracles I witness every day make this work one of the most fulfilling on the planet.

Yesterday when I arrived at work I found this e-mail from a co-worker waiting in my inbox:

"During a senate subcommittee meeting regarding financing Medicaid that was held yesterday, senator Williams referred to Therapeutic Horseback Riding as simply “pony rides.” So he, among the other members of the subcommittee, need to be enlightened that Therapeutic Horseback Riding is not simply just a “pony ride” for our participants. Please take the time today to call each of the representatives listed below to educate them on the therapeutic benefits of THR. Every phone call and letter counts as we protest to keep these budget cuts and eliminations from happening.

Sen. Tommy Williams 281-364-9426 ph
Sen. Jane Nelson 817-424-3446 ph
Sen. Bob Deuell 972-279-1800 ph
Sen. Kevin Eltife 903-596-9122 ph
Sen. John Whitmire 713-864-8701 ph
Sen. Judith Zaffirini 956-722-2293 ph"