Unlimited access >

Stallion for my Balou du Rouet mare?

Does anybody have experience to share with breeding their Balou du Rouet mare to certain stallions?

Balou Reyna NHF, 3-year old (turning 4 in April) that I am looking to breed this coming year. She is one of the easiest, most amateur friendly horses I have ever ridden. She has a wonderful brain - acts more like a seasoned veteran than a three year old. She has a beautiful trot, huge canter, auto changes, adorable jump, I could go on forever. I’m a 21 year old Amateur and broke her myself while my younger sister rides her while I’m away at college.

I’m trying to get an idea of what they cross well with. Among my favorites are Cornet Obolensky, Crown Affair, Qredit, Cunningham, and Sir Caletto.

Any help or insight would be greatly appreciated!:slight_smile:

I have a Crown Affair colt. He was born friendly. He is absolutely easy to work with, athletic, and eager to please. My mare was a Rio Grande who is a bit nervous, so I think that Crown Affair mellowed him out a bit. I do not know specifically about a Balou cross, just sharing my experience. :slight_smile:

I think I actually contacted the breeder of your horse about her!

My friend has a Balou mare out of the full sister to Judgement. She is in foal to Cornet Obolensky and she is thinking about breeding her to Emerald next year.

Are you hoping to breed for a jumper or a hunter and are you breeding to keep or sell? I know a few Cunningham’s and he isn’t my first choice in a stallion or Cassini I son.

I like to look on HorseTellex when researching as you can see what horses with X horse as a dam sire have accomplished and who their sire is etc.

I have a Balou stallion, and my favorite crosses have been with the Holsteiner C lines if that helps at all. Is your mare out of SPS Wega?

[QUOTE=Didi;8960746]