Unlimited access >

Starting up in the Horse World

Hey all,
I’m in New England and I’m looking to start up with a small horse training, and selling business but I don’t know where to start. :confused:
It seems like you can only get started if you’ve already started but you can’t get started because there aren’t any avenues to start.
I used to work in the horse industry but now I work in the Agricultural field which pays the bills but I miss spending time with horse people and working around horses.
:eek:

I’ve tried to reach out to the general new farmer’s community in my area to see if there was any interest in co-building a dual purpose farm but there hasn’t been any interest in what I’m envisioning.
For those of you who have been there and done that- any suggestions?

I don’t come from a horse family and I don’t come from money. I’m just coming out of a difficult financial spell (because of student loans and the bad economy) and I want to get to the next step but I’m out of ideas.
Please help?
I know time heals all but there is only so much daylight in a day and I want to enjoy every minute of it (I that makes sense).

Hmm. If you want to train horses in a competitive market – like southern New England – you’re going to need to be competing and consistently doing well.

Trying to make a profit from buying/selling horses without deep pockets to fund your start up and/or a solid reputation as a trainer, ahhh, nope. Have you heard the saying that the way to make a million dollars in the horse biz is to start with a billion?

I get the dream part, but, I think you’re aiming at an impossible corner of the horse biz given your circumstances. Why not farrier school? Or move to an affordable region without a fully saturated market?