Unlimited access >

Stonewall Living Bar saddle opinions

I’m a horse trainer, just started doing it full-time in the past couple of years, and having trouble with saddles. It’s impossible to get a custom saddle for every horse so I make do with the few I have + shims and pads. I mostly ride in English saddles but I’ve been looking for one or two western or endurance saddles (for those horses that, no matter how much groundwork and preparation you do, still want to give a buck or something) and came across the Stonewall living bar saddles. I do prefer something without a horn. If it really does fit nearly every horse without manually adjusting it every time, that would solve that issue. I’m also looking for something secure (I’ve seen a few for sale with bucking rolls included) and is comfortable for me of course. I have I very wide pelvis. In many saddles (especially the ones made more for men) my seat bones tend to rest on the “corners” of the seat. And like many women I need a narrower twist. I used to need as narrow as can be but since I’ve lost a little weight I’ve noticed I am comfortable in ones a little less narrow. My Collegiate Intellect is the most comfortable saddle I’ve ever sat in for reference, for those with experience with that saddle.

So opinions on fit for the horse, fit for the rider, and security for the rider.

long time lurker on these forums here, just made an account to reply as I had a tough time finding reviews for the Stonewall living bar saddle when I was saddle shopping. I got mine in 2019 after struggling to find something that fit my Arab.

As far as fit for the horse goes, I’m very happy!