Unlimited access >

Strange mare behavior

Hi Everyone,

I bought a 4 year old Westphalian mare in November and she has been a joy, and still is! Recently though she has developed strange behavior when I put her in the paddock with certain other mares.

Whenever she sees certain mares, she first opens her mouth, moves her lips back and … chews I guess, or looks like she is chewing her tongue. Then she urinates a little, which is odd since she usually only does so in her stall. Often the other mare will urinate as well, though I have never seen one copy the mouth movement. Then the mares just seem to … cuddle, and mine seems to be trying to suckle, which (bizarrely to my way of thinking) doesn’t seem to bother the other mare at all.

I think she may just be in heat - it sounds silly I guess but I have had very little experience with mares up to now - but I would like a more experienced opinion. I live in the Netherlands and all anyone can tell me here is that it is mix of something called “hengstig”, which translates as “stallion-like” and baby behavior.

I look forward to hearing your thoughts!

Nothing a mare does surprises me anymore. Just go with it.

Yep, sounds like heat…I suspect the mouth antics is just her demonstration of “submission” like one can see in foals. :slight_smile:

It is not a mare thing. Your poor horse has had so little experience with other horses she is reacting literally as a baby would. When the more dominate horse’s “see” the baby they respond as they would to a baby.

So submission + heat? That would explain why the other mares urinate but don’t do the mouth thing … she is the youngest one on the yard.