Unlimited access >

Strange swelling near mouth

Hi everyone,
this is my first time posting but I’m trying to reach out for any advice on what might be going on with my little guy.
Hank is 9 months old, he came from a rough start in life and I’ve had him for about a month. Today when I got home from work both sides of his mouth are equally swollen and under his chin. He is acting 100% normal, gums are a good pink, no heat in the swollen areas. He is breathing fine, heart rate good, no nasal or eye discharge, stool is normal. He doesn’t seem to be in any pain and doesn’t care if I tough the swollen areas. There isn’t a vet nearby who will do an emergency farm call unless the horse is practically dead. Anyone have any ideas what might be causing the swelling? The other gelding in his pasture is 100% fine no swelling or anything. All the research I’ve been doing mainly says its probably just allergies but I’m looking for any input!
Thanks in advance
Here is a photo of him just a few minutes ago
http://i1174.photobucket.com/albums/r612/Lindsey_Stack/13775339_10209401444094617_5031735668367608359_n_zpsoroa2ls0.jpg

Well that’s weird. Kinda looks like grass glands, but really in the wrong place.

Agreed it’s not an emergency call if he’s not distressed, but perhaps you can at least get a pic to the vet tomorrow? There is a horse dose of Benedryl, which might be worthwhile if you suspect allergies. Nothing looks wonky with his teeth, right?

Congrats on having something totally bizarre for your first post! :smiley:

Thanks lol
I’m baffled at the moment in 21 years of horses I have never seen swelling like this. His teeth are fine from what I can tell, he’s a pretty relaxed little guy and let me take a decent look. I’m just at a loss that’s why I posted thought maybe someone could offer some type of insight