Unlimited access >

Struggling with change and adapting (ostomy and lower back issues)

I’m struggling at the moment. I’m in therapy, but people who haven’t been involved with horses don’t understand. Health issues have made me stop riding, left my dream job (very large equine sanctuary) and give up my horses over the last few years. I’m miserable. I miss my job, I want so badly to keep doing it. It’s really added to my depression. Twenty years of being involved with horses to just stop.

I couldn’t take it anymore. I started horse sitting a little to take the edge off. I recently started riding again after 3 years out of the saddle. My heart needs it. I have ridden twice so far and each time is brutal. It’s painful to ride. I realize some of it is unused muscles and that is to be expected but this is more than that. Shooting pains from my lower back (torn discs) across my hip and down my leg. And I’m getting a migraine after. Neuro said “sacral instability” will cause this. I bought a back brace. It’s about 3" wide and wear it low across hips. It helped a bit but I think I need more support across my abdomen as well. After my colectomy and c section my abdominal muscles have not come back. I spent many weeks in physical therapy trying over the years. What I do have fatigues so quickly and feels like things are pulling apart thanks to scar tissue :sob:

I can’t find a brace that offers support but also accommodate my ostomy. I can’t just squash it to my body, there needs to be room for the bag to fill. I found abdominal braces that have holes for the bag, but they dont offer much back support. Maybe I need to wear both braces together? I even considered making my own. I am mediocre seamstress but I think I could with the right materials. It would be a big challenge. Or if anyone knows a brace that already exists?

I need this. I need to be able to ride. I don’t think my mental health can take the idea of losing this again cry :sob::sob::sob:

1 Like