Unlimited access >

Studs.... HELP PLEASE!!!!!

hi, I am new to the world of studs, so have a few questions… firstly, does it matter if you only have studs on the back feet?
secondly, what type of studs would you suggest for slightly damp to dry ground for a showjumping round with a heavy horse (1/2 clydy) who slips?
thanks a lot for your help:winkgrin:

Welcome to COTH. Mostly we save the red exclamation point icon and all caps for actual emergencies like a missing horse or someone stranded by the side of the road.
Studding only in back is just fine. I’ve done it for years because my horses are quite short coupled and tend to pull front shoes if I slow that front foot down at all.

As for jumping on damp or dry ground, if the ground is hard and has tough turf on it, I might use a small grass tip (pointy end) on the outside with a plain road (flat end) on the inside. If the ground has some give to it I would probably just go with road studs all around.

If your horse has never worn studs before I would start small. Big studs can really change their way of going and it can be an adjustment.

If you look at this chart: http://www.bitofbritain.com/Studs_p/10112.htm
R is the stud I mostly commonly use on the outside hinds.
V is the stud I almost always use on the inside hinds.

If the ground is very hard I might use S or Y on the outside only (still V on the inside).

If it’s soft I might use Q on the outside with V on the inside. If it’s really soft I use C all around.

If I were doing a lot of roadwork or foxhunting I might use T all around.

I use R all the way around. They are good for punching through hard ground or frozen conditions.

[QUOTE=Highflyer;8012472]
If you look at this chart: http://www.bitofbritain.com/Studs_p/10112.htm
.[/QUOTE]
Thank you Highflyer, that is one of the best charts and descriptions I have seen. I have lots of different studs and rarely use them.

Thankyou, sorry i diddnt know about caps and red mark! thank you again for your info!