Unlimited access >

Summer Internships

Hey guys! I know this question has been asked multiple times on this forum, but I just thought I’d ask again to get more current information. I’m currently an undergraduate junior in the Animal Science program at the U of MN. As a part of my degree, I have to complete an internship. I have an Equine Emphasis with my Animal Science major, so I’m looking to complete an internship with breeding/training/management in mind.

I would love the internship to either be involved in racing (preferred) or with the Warmblood/Sporthorse breeding/training sector. I have contacted a lot of farms, but haven’t had any luck yet. Any suggestions on where to find a summer internship? I was looking at KEMI, but sadly their program doesn’t fit into my schedule as I’m strictly looking for a summer internship.

Have you contacted Taylor Made Farm?

[QUOTE=spotted draft x filly;7891438]
Have you contacted Taylor Made Farm?[/QUOTE]

Yes, but sadly I never heard back from them. I used their online website form though, is there another way to contact them that might be easier?

These might not be directly related to horseracing but contacting them might give you some leads related to your goals.

http://www.americanhorsepubs.org/students/internship_program/2015-AHP-Student-Internship-Program.pdf

For the future you might be interested in this.

http://www.darleyflyingstart.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/06/darley-brochure.pdf

I’m aware having been affiliated with a college equestrian program for a short time that often the departments publish a list of summer internships available. Most often they are breed or discipline related. I’d think you’d have better luck outside racing just because of the nature of the industry, but don’t hold me to that because it has been sometime since I looked into this. Check with your department and departments at other universities and colleges, particularly those with equestrian programs in their athletic departments.