Unlimited access >

Suspensory Injury Rehab, Prognosis, and Help?

My mare (12 year old Welsh/Quarter cross) sustained a lateral branch suspensory injury. We are going on week 6 of treatment and there have been no improvements. Initially, she was grade 3/5 lame with slight swelling and heat now she’s still 3/5-4/5 lame with prominent swelling and heat. For treatments, I have been stable bandaging her 12 hours on 12 off, cold hosing daily in the evenings, icing daily in mornings, applying epsom salt poultice (green jelly kind) overnight, and strict stall rest. All this is done as per my vet.

Initially, she was getting half-dose bute (sensitive tummy) daily but that was too much for her to handle and she started to show ulcer symptoms. Should I be seeing improvement? Any other ideas on treatment? I’m a student and thus don’t have a lot of money for ESWT or PRP or such.

What experiences have you had with branch suspensory injuries? Prognosis for return to competition/riding? How often do these injuries become chronic?

I would get a second opinion. That is not a routine I would follow.

What kind of routine would you recommend?

What type of sesamoid involvement (any avulsions) and on which leg? Tear %?

Suspensory injuries are very varied in their prognosis. It depends on the type of injury and which limb, if any avulsions/sesamoid fractures are involved, the horse and how it handles its newly restrictive lifestyle (is she a good patient?), how well the initial healing process goes, and whether or not the horse has access to major medical treatment/care as well as quality farrier care… many front suspensories are causes by incorrect angles up front IME.