Unlimited access >

Suspensory Strains - What are your experiences?

Hello! I can find tons and tons of questions and articles about suspensory tears, but not strains… Has anyone rehabbed one? Did your horse return back to 100% after rehab? My horse’s prognosis is amazing, but I would just like to hear other’s experiences.

Front or hind?

Mine is just now back into work after suspensory strains (slight damage, no tears) on both fronts. He was diagnosed in March. So it’s been a long road, but the last scan (2 weeks ago) was normal.

My horse strained his suspensory, no tears. Front leg.
He got his leg iced down every day, and did a dmso wrap with plastic wrap on the outside to get the swelling down. He was on bute. Once the swelling was down, did poultice nightly, stall rest with hand walking/grazing. it took like 6months if I remember correctly before I started riding him(lightly). just walking for the first two weeks and added like 2-3 minutes of trotting ( on firm footing), I didn’t bring him back to full work for about 9-10 months total.
He mad a full recovery and has no limitations in work.

Uughh! I have been doing this for 8 months! The only saving grace is that it is not my horse.

He had surgery Jan. 20 on what turned out to be an old injury. All was well, dealing with the “program” and a horse who did not want to be on stall rest. Then there was the riding part on a horse who was a bad actor before this started but it went well and had a good ultrasound May 31. Proceeded with the program until he started going lame in late June. Find out in late July he has reinjured it!!!

New program. Progressing.

I highly recommend Zylkene. It keeps them quiet!! Way better than Resurpine.

Still on “stall rest” with walking on a gravel road and now trotting. With my vest on in this terrible heat. So done with this!

Good luck!!!