Unlimited access >

Tad Coffin Panel Upgrade

A few months ago I purchased a used '09 tad coffin saddle to ride in while I am taking weekly lessons at a lesson barn. The previous owner told me the panels were re-done by tad coffin in 2019, but I noticed that the panels are very thin under the twist and feel too squishy to the touch right beneath the cantle (like my finger will leave an impression in the foam if I press hard enough). I am a university student so I cannot afford to pay $800 to have the panels re-done (and for them to degrade in less than 2 years) by tad-coffin, so I am wondering if anyone has had luck with an independent fitter re-doing the panels. What I am worried about is non tad coffin panels affecting the balance of the seat since the feel of the seat was the sole reason for me choosing this brand. My saddle also has the smart-ride tree so I am not sure if that would be affected by the re-paneling. I would just like to add that I currently do not have a specific horse that the saddle would have to be fit to since my lesson horse changes from week to week. I would really appreciate any advice or tips if anyone has gone the independent fitter route for tad-coffin repairs.

You didn’t notice the panels before you bought?

I can’t imagine you will save much by going to an independent fitter.

Have you considered getting some kind of memory foam or thinlite pad?

TC panels are supposed to be very squishy. If they are broken down they are just like pancakes.

I purchased the saddle online and in the listing the panels looked just fine. I’d ridden in my barn owner’s TC so that was how I knew what model I wanted. I do have a shimable sheepskin pad that I use under it for every ride, but I realize now that padding is more of a band aid and won’t help the weight distribution of my saddle. I know no matter what it’s going to be expensive to fix, but if I can save a few bucks that would be preferable :slight_smile:

Yep, i would classify them as “pancakes”