Tailbone-area pain while riding?

Several months ago, I noticed that my tailbone was really starting to hurt, not while riding but afterwards and continuing for a couple days after my ride. I am a re-rider who took about seven years off and just started again last August. I never had this problem before. Though I started riding again in August, I started noticing this pain and soreness probably in early March. At that time, I was riding in an older, too-small-for-me saddle and was already thinking about buying a new saddle that fit me and the horse better. I thought that might help. I bought a new saddle and the tailbone-area pain persisted.

Since then, I’ve come to the conclusion that it isn’t my actual tailbone itself that hurts, but it seems to be the muscles/tendons/ligaments around it. I’ve noticed pain after horseback riding, but it tends to feel a bit worse after sessions with my personal trainer. During those, I am not doing anything involving sitting on my tailbone, but I do plenty of exercises that work those muscles around it. The pain comes and goes. If I haven’t ridden or exercised in a few days, I don’t feel any pain at all. My trainer knows that I ride but he’s not an equestrian himself, so he has some educated guesses on what the problem could be but isn’t completely sure.

I was working out by myself last night and noticed a particular exercise that I used to always do gave me some discomfort. Most exercises don’t actually give me any grief during them, but I notice the pain afterwards, almost like a muscle soreness. This exercise involved a side plank and then lifting and moving my top leg to the front and then moving it in an arc to the back, and then back to front. I am not sure if that makes sense. I tried to find an example online but didn’t have much luck.