Unlimited access >

Taking lessons from two different instructors at same time?

Hello there!

I’m looking for some advice as I enter the world of h/j. I’m a relative newbie to horses; I took pleasure-type lessons for 4 years, and then I switched to a dressage instructor for the past 2 years. I’ve enjoyed the dressage instruction and have learned a LOT; my instructor teaches from a classical approach and is very picky about doing things the right (not fast) way.

Ultimately, though, when I started dressage lessons, it was with the intention of learning to jump. I figured I would learn how to ride well on the flat, and then move into jumping. My instructor has jumped and taught students to jump (hunters and jumpers), but it’s not her area of expertise. Also, our barn has a few horses that are trained to various levels in dressage, but no real training in jumping. My instructor has put a little bit of training on the pony I’m currently riding (I’m a petite adult), but her health prevents her from riding him enough over jumps to make him bombproof for a beginner over fences. We’ve worked on cross rails in two lessons, and the second schooling session ended with the pony majorly over jumping, which unseated me a bit. He then bucked on landing, which resulted in my flying over his head, landing on MY head with a concussion. Fun trip to the ER… ugh. My worry is that this barn doesn’t have the school ponies/horses to safely teach me the basics!

There is a h/j/eventing barn down the street that is run by a competent rider/trainer/instructor. I’ve taken one lesson with her, and I think she (and her school horses) could take me more safely into the h/j world.