Unlimited access >

Tandem Harness

Friend has Belgians.
He bought them trained to drive single, team & even as Wheelers in a Pickax.

Now he’s decided he wants to drive a Tandem.
He has team harness & did a trial run, but the lead horse obviously had no clue, kept trying to drop back & place himself with the Wheeler.

I have zero knowledge of harnessing a team or tandem. Friend drove a tandem once, a long time ago & with horses trained to that configuration.

I told him he needs Tandem harness, based on ads I’ve seen that mention (as best I recall) fittings for the saddle worn by the lead horse.
He insists he has what it takes already. Mentioned lines, but no other change in harness.
Am I worried for no reason?

Needs a set of very long lines to run from Leader, thru rings on wheeler bridle, then thru terret rings that are split horizontally to keep reins apart. Leader can wear a single horse harness but needs trace carriers. Not sure of “the look” in draft hitches, but traces “probably” go back to a set of singltrees hung off the wheeler’s collar. This was so both horses could actually pull the load while delivering in narrow alleys and city streets in the old days. Drafts may have some unique way of connecting the leader I don’t know about.

The carriage folks often shortcut with very long leader traces and two unique pieces of metal called “Tandem keys” that fit on wheeler trace buckles instead of using singletrees. Usually no breeching on leader because she can’t hold anything without shafts or a pole! Less to polish!

He needs a whip with lash that reaches the leader, should she need a touchup for forward.