Unlimited access >

Taxes on Income from Leasing Out Your Horse

I lease out my TWH to a lady for $350 per month. I’ve been doing it since February 2022. She pays me through Venmo.

Since tax season will come upon us pretty soon, I need some advice. Do I have to pay taxes (such as income taxes) on the Venmo money I receive from the lessee every month?

I live in Southern California.

Thank you!!

Is $350 a month your only expenses on this horse? I would think any expenses on this horse you incur would bring the net income down to zero or possibly even a hobby loss. I am not a tax expert although a CPA. I could sure negate any revenue one of my horses brought in. Unfortunately they do not bring in any sort of revenue just expenses.

I will offer some general income tax advice here. Without knowing your specific tax situation…this should not be construed as tax advice.

Generally, you should be claiming any revenue for the purpose of income tax. You can use reasonable** repeat reasonable expenses to reduce the amount of net income on that revenue. In the case of a leased horse, I would at least include any equine insurance you carry for the TWH and routine vet bills. If you file this on a schedule C, you may qualify for the 20% qualified business income deduction. This gives you a 20% deduction on your business income.

Now…the IRS hates financing hobbies. If you get any repeat any use of the horse you need to prorate any expenses. Say your lease says you have use of the horse 3.5 days a week, you can only use 50% of the equine insurance expense against your lease income. In your instance, I would avoid expenses like non-routine vet bills, expensive farrier or bodywork, or your board bill. That is just screaming for an IRS audit. If you were leasing a high dollar show hunter? I would consider some of those expenses…but not all.