Unlimited access >

TB makeover

I’m going to watch! And to cheer on my friend, who is doing Show Hunter on her guy. Anyone else going? This is my first time, I’m not even really sure what to expect! But I am super excited to see the other disciplines I never get to see. TBH, I’ve never even ridden an OTTB (I think), I’m more a WB paced girl, but my friend swears by them. This is her third time competing. Do a lot of horses get sold there? She has her guy up for sale.

4 Likes

I’m going! Mine is entered in dressage and show hunters, and my trainer’s horse is in show hunter and show jumper. Mine is for sale as well.

3 Likes

Hi there!!!

I’m the show jumping steward and it’s a great event. Tons of fun and the Tb/OTTB world is a nice friendly tight knit community.

Some people do sell their horses there, but as the prices have risen, fewer have sold at the makeover itself. But some transactions start at the makeover and get finalized later.

Come say hi! I’ll be at the ingate for the jumper ring what feels like all week. LOL.

Emily

10 Likes

I’ll be there scribing for the hunter judges again this year. So much fun and great horses.

2 Likes

I’m not going this year, but I competed in the past. A seriously FUN show. Everyone is so friendly. I competed a friend’s OTTB and we took my OTTB along as a buddy, so we rode them all around the grounds. It was so fun, and our horses were super friendly too, so they made as many friends as we did! You are going to see a wide variety of sizes, shapes, and personalities. Most of the horses I saw were very quiet and easy going (good training will help with that a ton!) and they can do all sorts of jobs. I honestly believe that TBs are the most athletic and versatile breed out there.

9 Likes