Unlimited access >

Teaching Begginer Lessons - What qualifications do I need?

I’m about to start college and I’m hoping that I can offer some beginning riding lessons as a way to help pay for my equestrian pursuits when money gets tight. I have a 21 year old mare who can be a bit difficult at times, but I’m hopeful that I can get her to a point where she’s safe for W/T and lunge line lessons.

I don’t have much of a show record because my horse was older when I got her and I never really had a chance to compete, but I’ve been riding for 10 years in many disciplines on lots of different horses and I know how to teach. But what I’m wondering is… are there any affordable programs I can go through or certificates I can get that will give me more credentials as an instructor?

Thanks!

I would try to get a job as a groom/working student/general barn laborer with a barn that has a lesson program. Some of these programs have their qualified older junior riders teach the up/downers.

If you branch out on your own with your own horse you will need much more insurance, etc. It is a very involved process.

^^Agreed with french fry. Finding a job with an established barn will afford you liability coverage and other benefits that are tricky to come by (and make financially worthwhile) when operating on your own. Not to mention finding a barn that will allow you to teach lessons on their property off of your own horse. There are liability and other issues for them, as well.

There are many certification programs available and easily searchable online- ARIA, CHA, ICP, etc. Some are worthwhile, some less so… research carefully.