Unlimited access >

Tell me about Greenville SC (edited - was originally looking at NC)

West coast eventing trainer contemplating a major move to NC (possibly SC if northern part). I’m a seasoned pro (ie middle-aged) I train, teach, do some sales. Looking for areas that have a need. Any specific areas I should focus on that aren’t already saturated? Any barns in need of instructors? Not in a position to buy a property so would be looking to potentially lease. Could manage a barn in exchange for a stall, open to ideas. Any advice appreciated, would greatly appreciate suggestions on specific barns I should look at when I visit (barns that allow outside trainers).

NC makes sense to me because of location. While I know FL is the big and upcoming place, living there year round doesn’t sound all that appealing. I want a place I could live year round, potential to go south for the winter, but not required.

Howdy!! I would definitely stay away from the Southern Pines-Pinehurst-Raeford area of NC. We are saturated with Eventing and dressage trainers including a couple of Olympians. Maybe look at Greensboro or western NC-Tryon area. Good Luck!

1 Like

Thank you. I have heard that. Currently looking at either the Durham area, or farther west… Greenville SC. If you have any input on those places please let me know.

Greenville could be an option… but you will still be competing with the landrum/ Tryon area, since they are so close

I have to say the Greensboro/Winston Salem area. Durham, Raleigh, and Chapel HIll are incredibly expensive with much of the land being developed, so there are fewer and fewer barns. Most of us either trailer down to Southern Pines, which is about an hour and change, or work with several trainers in the area including Holly Hepp and soon Doug Payne.