Unlimited access >

Tell me about Michigan Eventing Trainers

I am new to Southwest Michigan and I am looking for some inside information good and bad on eventing trainers in the area. I am more than willing to drive a couple hours or more for a good trainer and want to find an upper level trainer that has or is still competing at the upper levels. I have heard a few names mentioned and looked at their websites: sue moessner, philippa humphreys, erika tries peterson, robin walker— so I know they have upper level experience but I don’t know much else.

So can you tell me about your experiences: what are they like to lesson with, work for, how are they at shows, what type of rider/trainer, what kind of values, what do/don’t you like about them, etc. Please PM if you prefer. Also are there any other trainers out there that should be on my list to consider and what do you know about them?

Thank you!

I train with Erika Petersen. She’s (IMO) the greatest. :slight_smile: She’s about to have a baby any minute but still took 4-5 kids to Cobblestone last weekend and will be taking a whole pack to a local dressage show on Saturday. Umm, dynamo? Yes. :lol: I board two at her place and take lessons twice a week when I can. She’s done more with my pitiful self than any trainer I’ve ever had. She does not waste my time patting me on the head and telling me I’m wonderful, nor does she holler and yell and berate her riders. Can’t stand either style. She’s obviously not competing at any level right now and just sold one of her upper level horses, but it won’t take her long–virtually every horse she starts winds up at Intermediate or Advanced.