Thin Line pads for back pain?

Hi all!

This is my first post, and truly, the reason I joined the COTH forums.

Three months ago I took a spill off my gelding and broke my back. Specifically a L1 compression/burst fracture. I am still unable to ride per my neurosurgeon, but look forward to the day that I can. Right now there is no fusion in sight, unless the pain does not subside. I’m in that terrible TLSO brace until told otherwise…ugh.

I’ve heard that Thin Line saddle pads are endorsed by spinal surgeons, but have not seen any medical literature by neurosurgeons regarding that claim. (I’m a nurse so I’m a little picky about what people say is “medically helpful”).

Anyone with similar problems ride with these pads? I’m trying to anticipate things that I might need when I start riding again. That’s when I heard about these pads, but would love some testimonials.

Also, what other products to you use to help with back injuries and riding? For example: I bought a body protector to use all the time, not just eventing, so that the impact of a fall would be dispersed and protect my vulnerable prior injury. What else?

Thanks you guys!!

I love my thinline pads but do not see any difference between using them and not using them in terms of my back pain. I use them for the horse’s comfort.

I use them for my own back pain, and I do feel a difference if I forget to use it. However, my back problems are not nearly as severe as the OP’s and my pain is muscular.

My horse could care less whether I use the Thinline pad.

Welcome!

Hi Dukethe Dane,

Congratulations! You not only are one of us, you also join the broken back club with me! Whaa Hoo Waa! Isn’t it just gangs of fun!:eek:

Please feel free to p.m. me, as I’m 5 years out from my fall, and I’ve developed LOTS of strategies. (I got hit by a deer while I was galloping a big DWB) multiple compression fractured vertabrae, squished discs, vertabrae in novel positions.