Unlimited access >

Things you should know but are ashamed to admit you don't...

I’m sure that there are more than a few of us out there that feel we should know certain things about horses, but are too embarrased to admit that we don’t.

I am a horse professional, but admit there are some basic things that I know I should know, but don’t. So here’s the thread: Don’t be ashamed to ask because no one will judge. Those of you who know the answers, feel free to answer. Ask your stupid questions away!!!

I’ll start:

1. I can never remember what a horses’ vision is (blindspots, etc.) and what colors they see and don’t see (if any).

2. Why the heck does the elastic part of the girth have to be on the mounting side? Never made much of a difference to me.

Anyone else?

I should be able to post the trot. I still struggle with that!

Never have and do not know how to wrap a leg…:o

I suck at being able to tell a horse with good conformation vs. bad conformation. hehe. Oh and I often get the parts of the leg mixed up…there are more. Just cant think if them right now

I’m actually a pro at wrapping legs (we won’t go into how I got that way:eek: )

Always wrap towards the back of the horse, meaning the ball of the wrap should always go away from the front. I always start just above the ankle and go down a couple of times and then work my way back up. Usually if you’re using pillow wraps, you don’t have to worry about being too tight.

Vision, anyone? This one kills me. What the heck is their vision!? I cannot remember!

I always have a hard time finding that dang “bean” when I clean a sheath. Could be because I’ve only ever owned mares! :smiley: I’ve done my fair share of sheath cleaning, but the bean is ever-elusive for me. :dead:

I can never remember which rein goes on the outside when you use a double bridle or pelham. Actually I’m not sure there IS a consensus on that…and I don’t use one anyhow, so… :wink: