Unlimited access >

Tips for the roach back horse

As the title says, I’m looking for some good, detailed tips and exercises for helping a roach backed horse lift his back and use his hind end.
I was recently faced with the sad news that the dressage trainer that I have been riding horses for for the last 2 years while I am in college had taken a job opportunity in a different state. While I was looking for options for me to continue riding (there’s really no reputable trainers aside from the one I was riding for in the area), one if my professors approached me and told me about a hardly started 5 year old warmblood cross that she had sitting. Now she’s planning to board him at a spot that I picked out so that i can ride him. This is super exciting for me because I have always worked for trainers, and so never had to organize a training schedule on my own. I feel like I’m going to learn alot from this guy and I’m excited to apply everything that I have been taught and get to see something progress with only my guidence. He has a mild roach back and a steep shoulder angle though, and I have read that a roach back in particular could make it harder for him to lift his back and step under because his back is already “lifted”, although not necessarily engaged. So I’m looking for some insight on what difficulties I may experience and ideas and tips to help him overcome them when I feel that he is ready to start doing that sort of weightlifting (since I don’t really know what he knows or how he rides just yet. He’s being brought down on the 11th of January).

Here’s a picture of him that I snapped when she brought him to the college to be shod. It’s not a good conformation photo, and not flattering to the poor guy at all, but hopefully it can give you guys a feel!
https://scontent-lax3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xat1/v/t1.0-9/12392066_1097451243599129_4303717991149140153_n.jpg?oh=536265a27a6e00d5f91bcaaa227f158c&oe=57119EB1