Tips for XC self-critique?

I can tell when an XC round is really smooth and good, but when it’s not I don’t always know what the cause is or how concerned I should be. Sometimes it’s all a blur afterwards and I have to really strive to remember which jumps were off and in what way, then try to describe it to my coach the next time I see her. Video is great of course, but unlike SJ, it’s impossible for someone to video an entire round or even most of one.

I’m trying to think outside the box here. Would a helmet cam help with this or is the perspective not that useful for training purposes? If nothing else maybe I could narrate what I’m feeling to review later? (I already talk to my horse a lot and loudly, so I guess I’m willing to be “that rider.”) Or what about Equestic or some sort of sensor/tracker that might help me figure out if my pacing is off or if there’s a left/right lead difference or whatever?

For context, I’ve been eventing for about 6 years after riding dressage most of my life and I did my first couple Prelims in the fall. Our two Modified runs this spring were practically foot-perfect but I wasn’t as happy with our first Prelim this spring and am not sure what I did worse or if my perception is off. At this level it feels difficult to replicate the experience of running a course by schooling (not least because many venues remove the Prelim+ fences for open schooling days), so I need to learn as much as I can from each run.

1 Like

I’ve never used a helmet cam but I think it would provide at least some information. If nothing else, it may help spark/reinforce your memories of how the jump rode.

I wish we had more event videographers. In Area III in the 90’s there was always a videographer who got most of your course. But I’ve never seen one in Area II since I started re-riding 8 years ago. I don’t know if it’s the ubiquity of smartphones and people videoing each other or just a difference in Areas.

1 Like