Unlimited access >

Tips to Remember Jump Courses in Lessons?

Any tips for quickly learning courses in lessons? I just started riding regularly after about a 5 year break. I used to be great at remembering courses at shows and during lessons, but now I am STRUGGLING. Not sure if quick course memorization is an ability I “lost” during my break from riding and will have to work to regain or if it has more to due to mental burnout (I just graduated from law school and am studying for the bar).

Anyway… Any tips or advice is welcome. Thanks!

I am one of those people who can not remember names, dates, or other such details. So I get the struggle.

From talking to others I think the best trick is to figure out how it is easiest for you, and that might not be how it is told to you.

I do well with - Outside line, diagonal single, single outside, roll back to …
I have a friend who does - Blue jump line, red diagonal, yellow gate to green brush…

I have a hard time doing it her way and she gets totally lost doing it my way. If your instructor is saying outside line and you do better with something else just say to yourself ‘blue line away’ instead of whatever the trainer says.

I also think it is fair to say to your instructor that you are having a hard time remembering courses so would appreciate some help as you go. I doubt they will mind doing that.

I tend to think in terms of turns after jumps. If I can remember the turn, the jumps will be in front of me (esp. handy if it’s lines).

Also, it’ll get easier the more practice you get. I am much more likely to forget where I’m going if I have two or three other things I’m concentrating on as well - I generally only do one thing well at a time!

2 Likes