Unlimited access >

Many factors will play a role, including whether he has AQHA papers, the quality of the movement and the jump, and location. Ballpark $10k, but maybe more if he could cross over between the USEF and AQHA shows.

Thanks! Yes he’s registered with the AQHA and appears to be a good mover. I’m not sure how to assess if he can cross over to the USEF shows as I have limited show experience.

Does he have a lead change? A big enough stride? how much jump does he have (is he cute over little jumps because he is limited?).

Looking at something similar here for $4500 only it is 6 and just started over fences, of course not enough info to compare quality. I think being younger and green makes your guy more valuable.

I also agree, around $10k.

If he’s a 16.3 QH and he’s only 4, I would be careful about assuming he’s sound. Many of them do not have the hooves and bone to support that height, and OCD/navicular are big problems with certain bloodlines.

[QUOTE=heatherk33;7809136]
I’m on a budget which is the reason I’m considering a QH.[/QUOTE]

This statement really bothers me.

There are plenty of NICE Quarter Horses that show A/AA very often. A/AA isn’t limited to big fancy Warmbloods. Believe it or not, A/AA isn’t breed restrictive. There are also plenty for QH’s that go over 30k. The 4yro prospect could fizzle out to nothing or be brilliant, no matter what the breed. On other threads you have had a higher budget, but I guess now you are okay with slumming it with us QH people. 30k (your budget previously explained) can get you quite a bit if you are wanting something YOUNG.

A quick search on warmbloods-for-sale.com brought me 10+ pages of results in your price range, all over the world.

http://www.warmblood-sales.com/SearchResult1.asp?DressLevelTrain=0&EventLevelTrain=%&HuntLevel=%&JumpLevel=%&Gender=%&BreedID=%&sHeight=1&tHeight=99&Color=%&gAge=1980&lAge=2020&Registered=%&hPrice=100&lPrice=30001&State=%&Country=%