Unlimited access >

I just wanted to let you know that I read your post in the going back to riding/worth it thread. Your response came at a time I really needed to hear someone else’s experience with riding and MS. My diagnosis came over 20 yrs ago when kids came along and my horses passed away. Everything was great for 15 years but the last 5 have been a steady decline. I use a rollator around the house and short distances but use an ECV for longer days/going out. Last year I started riding again which has been the biggest blessing! It’s been a lot to get used to this new body in the saddle after being an able bodied rider. Anyhow, I’ve really enjoyed it and have set goals to compete, even just one time, in para dressage. Recently I’ve started trotting again but the sitting trot was never my strong suit to begin with and now the best I’ve been able to do is about 20 strides before I just fall forward from fatigue. So reading how you feel exhausted after about 6 strides at a canter (awesome btw) helped me feel a little better about my progress. It’s such a fine line between wanting something so badly and not giving up compared to understanding my limits and not beating myself up over it.
Sorry this is so long and probably more info than you needed. I was just so happy to read about someone else’s experiences riding.
One question if you don’t mind…have you ever thought about having your own horse again? I know even once I’m unable to ride that I’ll always want to have them in my life at some capacity.
Thanks again and take care!

I decided over twenty years ago never to own a horse again even if I could afford board at a good stable (decent horse care).

I have my own land. I used to have horses on it. By the time my last horse died I just.could.not. do the required work. Part of the reason I got my own land is that a few times I went through the stable I boarded at closing without warning, resulting in a mad scramble to find another stable.