Unlimited access >

Training tips for starting a horse in show jumping

So I’m new to the English world and have decided to pursue my dream of show jumping after barrel racing and training all my life. I’ve done some research on good training exercises for the starting show jumper but I’d like more input. The horse I have now knows nothing about jumping. He’s been used to work cows but he’s very smart, is amazing under saddle and I believe he would do great at a low level. So what are some good exercises for starting a show jumper? I have already been doing tons of flat work with him and he’s picked it up great and carries himself nicely and is very well balanced.

[QUOTE=showjumpingmama;8314895]
So I’m new to the English world and have decided to pursue my dream of show jumping after barrel racing and training all my life. I’ve done some research on good training exercises for the starting show jumper but I’d like more input. The horse I have now knows nothing about jumping. He’s been used to work cows but he’s very smart, is amazing under saddle and I believe he would do great at a low level. So what are some good exercises for starting a show jumper? I have already been doing tons of flat work with him and he’s picked it up great and carries himself nicely and is very well balanced.[/QUOTE]

Since both you and the horse are new to jumping, the best advice is to work with an experienced trainer. Many experienced riders never jump without a trainer present.

If you absolutely can’t find a trainer, start by letting the horse figure out how to jump without a rider, using a jump chute.

You absolutely need to find a trainer.

Work with a trainer. If you don’t have a trainer, get some good books or other resources on setting fences and starting young horses. Keep it small for a long time.