Unlimited access >

Treating rain rot in the winter

My father-in-law so very graciously gave me a horse (my very first!) for Christmas. I have a lot of experience with horses, I took riding lessons for years, but have never owned myself before until now. Turns out, my sweet new horse has rain rot :confused: Iā€™ve researched it out, but Iā€™d like first hand advice on how to treat it efficiently so as to hopefully nip it in the bud by spring time. Thanks in advance!!

When we got home from our vacation and found our wooly little Shetland looking like a leper victim from rain rot, we basically scrubbed in apple cider vinegar to help break up the scabs and pulled as many off as we could that didnā€™t hurt him.

After that we just applied Listerine daily. I really rubbed it in. As soon as a scab came loose we pulled it off and doused him again. The rain rot started healing and going away within a week. I donā€™t remember clearly how long until it was totally healed but I know it was really fast compared to a friend of mine who used a standard treatment (Truly sorry, I donā€™t remember what it was).

Just our experience. After that we actually started spraying Listerine on their backs once or twice a week. Itā€™s cheap and makes me feel better.