Unlimited access >

Treating ulcers w/ powdered omeprazole vs gastrogard

I know there are many threads out there about ulcers etc, but I don’t have the patience to read through all of them at the moment. My trainer & vet say 3 scoops of powdered omeprazole until we can switch to a maintenance dose… So I’m wondering if it would be cheaper and more effective to just use gastrogard

Would you guys do that, or just use gastrogard until the ulcers are gone?

I don’t have the patience to read through all of them at the moment.

I would suggest the “search” function because there are a lot of us who don’t have the patience to repeat what is out on the board many times over. The opinions on powdered omeprazole are many.

maybe i’m just not searching correctly since I’m fairly new at using the forums but cant find really anything on the powdered omeprazole vs gastrogard, which is why my patience has run thin…lol

Short answer: maybe.

Saying “my horse is on omeprazole powder…will it work?” is like saying “my horse is on grain…will he gain weight?”

Multiple companies make omeprazole powder, and there’s a lot of potential for varying levels of quality control in the amount of omeprazole actually in a dose and also for the method of protecting the drug in the stomach.

This should really be a question for your vet. Why don’t you ask him what scoping studies he’s done to show that this preparation is effective in treating ulcers?