Unlimited access >

trouble with release/landing?

Hey everyone,
I’m new to jumping and currently ride a large pony over 18" fences. Im doing small courses, and am struggling with being steady in the saddle. Timing with my two point at the take off is fine, but my landings feel messy. I fall a bit forward and sometimes have to push on my pony’s neck to sit back up. This usually appears near the end of the course when I’m getting tired and pony goes faster over jumps. I’m not really sure if I’m releasing enough (my trainer never really says anything about it, she actually says I need to two point a little longer over the jumps) or if I’m not sitting back up fast enough as we come to the landing. Do I just need to move faster? Release more? I always have to keep short reins with pon b/c she’s strong and goes MAXIMUM strong before the last fence (I have to sit and pull hard to slow her canter) so idk whether or not that’s contributing to release issue (should have had my trainer video me…). Any advice or insight would be very welcome! Karat (pony’s name) is such a lovely ride, I want nothing more than match her competence!

Yes video.

I’m guessing a few things/making some assumptions here, but it may help so I’m going to go with it…

Your “sit and pull hard” comment makes me wonder if you’re riding too far forward on the flat, so your two-point may also be too far forward. My TB gets faster when someone pulls on her mouth, so I try to sit up and use my shoulders and thighs to “whoa” before going to hands. A very good rider once told me to think of reins as the lines on the road to keep your horse inside, not as breaks or a steering wheel. You can drive on the road without lines, but it’s harder to ensure you’re straight.