Unlimited access >

Tryon, Aiken, Southern Pines, other?

Hi all, I know there have been topics on this in the past (I have searched and read them!) but it seems like it’s been a few years.

My husband and I are ready to move somewhere with a whole lot less winter than Maine. We are not wealthy and not near retirement, so cost of living and job markets need to be considered. I am a nurse, and he is in the heating/cooling industry.

I’m a rider, jumpers/eventing/trail riding are my interests. Emphasis on jumpers over eventing, if I have to choose one over the other. I want to be somewhere with access to good instruction, decent schooling shows and rated shows, and likeminded people (sporthorse people). His interests are boxing/MMA and riding his motorcycle. We both enjoy hiking. We want to stay on the east coast.

The plan would be to sell our 20-acre farm in Maine and buy land/build something of similar size in the new location, keep my 4 horses at home, haul in somewhere for weekly lessons. I would LOVE trail access from the property, or if not from the property, at least within a 20-minute drive.

When he was in the military and stationed at Ft. Bragg, we lived in Raeford, so we know that area a bit, but don’t want to limit our options by just going back to what we know. We’re also looking into the Tryon and Aiken areas, but are there any other areas we should look into? Pros/cons of each place? We’re familiar with the towns surrounding Southern Pines, but what towns surrounding Tryon and Aiken should we consider/not consider? Any other insights/opinions/tips?