Unlimited access >

Unpaid working student positions

Hello all!
I’m genuinely curious of how people in the industry actually affords to live with an unpaid working student position? Especially those with not a lot of money or financial backing?

They don’t.

6 Likes

When people do choose to do it, it’s usually a short-term arrangement. They save up enough money to be able to live without income for a few months for the opportunity to work with a top trainer for a short period of time. Unless someone has an incredible amount of financial backing, it’s just not sustainable long-term.

2 Likes

A working student position seems like a great way to get burnt out. No pay & endless hours of hard work. A lot of working student positions give kids false hopes of showing… which never really pan out.

3 Likes

They are generally still receiving support from their parents, or they have income from another source (trust fund, real estate, etc).

2 Likes

When I was a working student, I was on my parents’ insurance and my expenses paid by them (phone, car insurance, etc). I viewed it as my college. If I didn’t have my parents backing I would have become a full time groom, which was basically what I did, with a free lesson 5 times a week.

Bottom line is this sport is not welcoming to those without money. I do not come from a wealthy background. I fought tooth and nail to be where I am and am very proud of that, but I would probably be in a different realm if I had a junior career. I am very greatfull I had the help I did. I know people who when they turned 18, they were left to their own devices, including funding college much less having a roof over their head.

1 Like

Unfortunately, the fact is there are gobs of internships out there that are also not paid, it’s not just limited to those working students for an upper level rider/trainer. One has to weigh their choice of being an unpaid intern or working student on how it might help their career path.

3 Likes