Unlimited access >

Update in Post 85- Possible horse purchase: WWYD/advice?

I am in the market for a nice, safe, sweet, sound, beginner friendly horse. My ambitions are weekly lessons in flatwork, maybe entering a schooling dressage show one day, trail riding, and hopping over tiny cross rails… maybe even over a log on a trail ride one day.

I am an adult beginner, riding for 3 years on an OTTB gelding schoolie. We ride or do groundwork 2-5 times a week so while I’m not a complete and utter newbie, I’m still very much a beginner. He is a fairly quiet, lazy guy who does NOT like to go fast. He has some hind end issues that are mostly managed through maintenance and he also has EPM which was caught early and treated but does result in some uncoordinated moments/tripping etc. He and I work together really well. I’ve never come off < knock on wood >, I have good enough balance to stay in the saddle when he loses his balance/trips. He also has a very big trot that I love riding.

My coach has sent me a few ads for horses over the past couple of months as I indicated I was ready to start looking but we both agree that I’m in no rush and want to be picky - I’m looking for a horse I can love for the next 20 years of a partnership. We did find a very nice 6 year old QH gelding that I went to see on Friday.

He is darned near perfect. He’s a bit smaller than I would prefer (basically I’ve only ever ridden the 16.2 OTTB and this guy is 15.2 - and I’m 5’10 with long legs) but it’s not a deal breaker. He was incredibly sweet and willing and safe in my test ride. He is being sold on consignment and has been with the seller for 2 weeks. The seller is known for being a nice human and a good rider who sells many horses on consignment.