Unlimited access >

USDF Bronze medal - can this TB take me there?

As some of you might know, I’m new to dressage. I’ve only had about six months of formal instruction in the discipline. But I’m very committed to the sport and I plan to stick with it for years and years and maybe- someday- be competitive a the highest levels. But for now, my goal is to earn the USDF Bronze medal.
I’m starting to take lessons with a talented USDF gold medalist using my friend’s 18 year old Thoroughbred gelding.
If any of your saw the riding video I posted a while back, he’s the horse I was riding. Although we’ve both gotten better since then, we have a lot to work on.
He’s mainly hunter trained, though he’s done a bit of dressage. He has pretty bad balance, to be honest, and although I know it’s partly my fault, he gets very heavy on the forehand. He can do flying changes, but they are tricky for him.
So I have a feeling that I might need to find a different horse to ride if I want to (eventually) be scoring in the 60s in third level, but my question is, what would you all estimate as a reasonable expectation for the TB I’m on now? Should I expect to only practice on him? Do you think he could potentially do well (score at least 60) at 1st level? 2nd? Beyond?
I’m new to this, so any of your expertise would be apreciated!

I don’t see any reason why you couldn’t eventually crack a 60 at Third on that horse.

He looks green, not incapable.

By way of comparison:
Here is a less athletic and less typey horse than the one you are on, on the first day I met him.

I knew effectively zip about training up a dressage horse when I got him, but we learned together.

Here is that same horse a year later.

Untrained =/= incapable.