Unlimited access >

Used Trailer Shopping 101 for a New Hauler

Since asking about a trailer for horse and cart, doing some research, and assessing my current situation I have started used trailer shopping and would love some input.

As it stands, we have a very well maintained 2012 Toyota Tundra with a little over 105,000-ish miles on it that I will use to haul. I am looking to haul locally which is relatively flat. Realistically traveling will be for lessons; riding trainer is 12 miles away, driving trainer is about 40 miles freeway, and local indoor that allows my barn to pay a small fee to use that is 3 miles away. Locally we also have a lot in the way of bridle trails that are well within 30 miles from the barn, some closer than others.

I would like to find something by fall so I can have better haul out capabilities before winter comes back again. I would prefer a 2-horse gooseneck as I am new to hauling and understand they offer more stability than a bumper pull. Charlie trailers like a champ, heā€™s fine with step up or ramp, as well as straight or slant load. Iā€™d like aluminum over steel and donā€™t need anything extra like tack/dressing rooms. I have one that I am in line to look at locally that fits this bill. Iā€™ve found the 2-horse goosenecks donā€™t pop up a lot so Iā€™d also be open to a bumper pull or stock trailer type as well. Iā€™m not in any real rush so I donā€™t mind waiting a bit either. I understand itā€™s important to check roofs for rust/leaks, floors for holes/wear and anything steel on an aluminum trailer for rust, tires, electric, brakes etc. SO is well versed in cars/trucks and a friend I board with is also extremely knowledge about trailer shopping and is willing to go look with us provided he is in town and haul home while we get whatever hitch situation with the truck.