Unlimited access >

USEF Rule Change: Silver Stirrups for Equitation - Reccomendation Needed

Hello everyone! I’m looking for a recommendation on silver stirrups that are approriate for the equitation ring. I’ve been riding in Royal Riders for ~2 years and LOVE THEM. When USEF made the rule change this year, I went out and got the silver RR’s which claim they are “appropriate for the eq ring.” Well, this past weekend I ended up getting disqualified in an unrated eq division in Aiken because the judged still deemed them illegal and too dark. Let’s just say I will be returning them pronto… anyways, I’m looking for a new stirrup. I have bad joints and a larger foot, so I really really like the wider footbed on the RR’s.

Any suggestions as to what I should get? I’d prefer to stay under $200, as that is about what I should get back from my RR’s.

I’m looking into the MDC Sport/Hunter Classic stirrups, anyone have experience with those?

I have the MDC hunter classic stirrups and I really like them! I used to have the Herm Sprengers but I hated them. you might also want to try the silver Jin Stirrups which are lightweight like the RR’s

I have the MDCs also and love them. I actually find them much more comfortable than my Royal Riders were.

I’d say the silver jins are the closest to the rrs.

Well, this past weekend I ended up getting disqualified in an unrated eq division in Aiken because the judged still deemed them illegal and too dark.

That is really interesting.

I was just planning to spray-paint my Dover knock-offs with metallic Rustoleum.

[QUOTE=Renn/aissance;7459039]

I was just planning to spray-paint my Dover knock-offs with metallic Rustoleum.[/QUOTE]

See I’d be afraid it’d rub off or something. If you do it then post about it!

We are all also spray painting ours!

[QUOTE=Renn/aissance;7459039]

I was just planning to spray-paint my Dover knock-offs with metallic Rustoleum.[/QUOTE]