Unlimited access >

USEF/USHJA Recordings Necessary?

Hey all,
I used to compete pretty heavily on the A/AA circuit as a junior, but now as a poor young amateur I am trying to get back into it. I have a horse with me just for the summer that I’d like to take for a day trip down to HITS or VSF. Neither I nor the horse are members of USHJA or USEF. I know I could just pay the day passes for USHJA/USEF and not register myself, but do I need to register my horse to compete? Or can I get away without getting him recorded and except the fact that it will not go on his record or track his points?
Thanks!

I understand that other than opportunity classes, you, the horse and the horse owner need to be members or pay non-member fees. It is also my understanding that you still need a amateur card and take SafeSport training even if you are not a member.

1 Like

There seems to be no way to pay non-member fees for the horse, just registering him with USEF/USHJA or not registering him. Both websites say he needs to be recorded for a variety of benefits (i.e. HOTY points, year end standings, etc.) but do not explicitly state whether he can or cannot compete without a number, which is where I am getting confused.

1 Like

He needs a USHJA number and a microchip. Usef not necessary unless you need points. The USHJA number is what used to be the old “horse ID”.

3 Likes

I found this information. I would email USEF and ask for specifics. “You are required to have a USHJA Horse Registration number to compete in hunt- er, jumper, and/or hunter seat equitation class at any non-breed restricted USEF Licensed Competition. Exceptions to this rule are listed in GR901.9, items 1-9.”.

I don’t think they have to be registered to ENTER. Per usef website “ Horses must be recorded in order to:

To be eligible for USEF Awards and Championship programs (GR1111).

To be eligible to compete in a USEF Computer Ranking List class (GR1102.2).