Unlimited access >

Video Critique Please!! (UPDATE #78; New video)

So I’ve recently gotten in to showing at local jumper shows on my extremely amazing yet spooky horse. He’s a 15 year old paint, jumper gelding. We’ve school 3’9, but the highest we’ve (attempted) shown is 2’9. :cool: This is a video of our second show ever together… He had been to another show in this arena that was much more disastrous :cry: There is another show in April that I’m thinking about attending, but do you guys think it is worth it? :confused::confused: I hate putting stress on him, taking him off farm and making him jump even though he’s nervous? If he was younger I wouldn’t feel bad about it, but for his entire life he’s never been to a show until recently!

I would also like some critique on this video on my eq and his form! :yes: I’ve been riding him for around 4 years now. Basically finished him (he was super green when I got him). Yes I am riding in a hackamore. :slight_smile: Please excuse the shaky filming and blurriness at the end (it stared to pour down rain!!!) :eek:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iLdCk77T_ew

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

The only way to get him comfortable at shows is to go to shows. I would stay at a very low level, 18 inches to 2ft max until he is so bored he could jump them in his sleep.

Thanks for the advice! If I decide to show him anymore, that’s probably what I will do. :slight_smile:

That’s a really cute horse and I like the way you ride. You did a really good job of getting him to the other side of the jump and staying out of his mouth when it was awkward. My only observation is that he appears really over weight (and that’s says a lot coming from me who loves a chunky hunter). His backing off from the jumps says more to me about the fact that he’s too “earth bound” by his weight than spookiness necessarily. Does that make sense?